Project Time: Red Corsairs (Warhammer 40,000)

  

That wonderful blood red-orange, those monochrome chevrons and the chunky, bulky power cabling…

It began when I decided to start re-reading some of my Black Library books at the start of this year, which had been sat collecting dust for a long time.

I started with Treacheries of the Space Marines, figuring as a shorter anthology collection it would be easier to get back into the swing of reading. Gildar Rift came next, now I’m currently powering through the excellent Night Lords trilogy.

  

What do all three of those books have in common? 

Renegade Space Marines, in some cases more particularly – Red Corsairs.

Fun fact, I made some around about 2008 / 2009, inspired by the archaic simplicity of Wayne England‘s portrayal of Huron Blackheart, as well as from the renegades colour section of the 3.5th Codex: Chaos Space Marines.

   

 
Alas, in the last ten years or so, the Red Corsairs have evolved in both the main GW publications, miniatures and numerous Black Library books. Gone are the simple red saltine-covered ragtag piratical renegades of old, now more a traditional and contemporary Chaos Marine faction. Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of facets of this newer continuity I love (the Corpsemaster, the treachery and capture of the Wolf of Fenris, the entire Badab war in detail, etc.)
At the end of the day though, I’m still always drawn back to that Wayne England painting and classic look of the Red Corsairs….

In the years since I last dabbled with Huron’s finest, both the quality of the Space Marine plastics and (I’d like to think) my abilities as a hobbyist have vastly improved. Let’s give it another go shall we?

We take a look at my opening modelling efforts in a moment in the next post!

Leave a Reply

