Hobby Time: Red Corsairs (Part IX)

“Today we stand in the blood of our brothers, for we have been shattered by betrayal.”

Attributed to Obayn Gheist, during the Scourging of Makenna VII [M41]


I started chucking some paint on one of the Shattered Chaos Marines. The red was a doddle as I have that colour scheme locked down now. The silver however proved to be a tad more challenging. Initially I tried my usual NMM but it wasn’t working out so I switched back to true metallics, something I’ve not done in years.

I only had a W&N silver ink to hand, which I found is great to pseudo wet-blend over (it takes a longer time for it to fully dry) as all I was addin to it was varying amounts of black and glazes of brown and blue. Unfortunately, it sucks up a lot of paint so I had to keep going over and over the silver ink, which takes a lot longer to do than my usual feathering thin paint layers over dried paint. 

Still, there’s something neat about the contrast between the matte red and the glossy metallics which is something I didn’t consider.

I love the look of it so far, but I certainly need to invest in some GW metallic paints (silver and brass) to really finish these models. The need for the silver is obviously, whereas I need the brass for the leg great times on the Shattered and for the Red Corsair backpacks and details.

Leave a Reply

